About the Little Heath Lodge

The Little Heath Lodge was consecrated on 4 May, 1944, to cement the comradeship formed during the 1939 to 1945 World War.

The Civil Defence, bought into being just before the war started, gave selfless devotion to the civil population; first in giving confidence against a possible gas attack, and later during the bombing in succouring the injured and rescue work from damage and demolished buildings.

The Home Guard was formed in May, 1940 as a result of an appeal for men to defend their country against a possible invasion. If after 1000 years any foreign foe had dared to set foot on our sacred soil, the Home Guard would have defended the country to the last man.

These two organisations with mutual respect and admiration formed an integral part in the defence of their country, and the Little Heath Lodge stands as a monument to that association.